Burgle Bros FAQ

As of Nov 28, 2016

Rule Clarification

Do | have to use hack tokens to disable an alarm?
No, you can choose to trigger an alarm instead using a
hack token to silence it.

What if | run out of dice?

Dice are unlimited. If you run out of dice use some
marker to denote how many dice a safe/keypad has.
Note: each tile can only have a maximum of 6 dice.

Can | trade items?
Iltems can be exchanged between players as a free
action as long as they are on the same tile.

Can | drop items?

No, items can’t be put on the ground unless their cards
specify (e.g. persian kitty runs off or second gold bar
which needs to be picked up or must be dropped if for
some reason you are holding two)

Can there be two alarms on a tile?
No. A second alarm on the same tile is not triggered if
there is already an alarm token on it.

Can | move back and forth between tiles simply to
use up actions so | don’t have to draw an Event
card?

Event card draws are not optional -- if you use 2 or
fewer actions, you must draw and resolve an Event
card. Moving back and forth to use more than 2 actions
simply to avoid this is not allowed, as it is not in the
spirit of the game.

When entering a new floor for the first time, does
the tile trigger when you move into it?

Yes, except for at the start of the game, entering the
first floor. Also you can peek before moving up.

Adjacency...
Tiles are not adjacent through walls or between levels.

If there are two Foyers next to each other, can a
passing Guard see through the first Foyer into the
second one?

No.

Help! We’re both on the 3rd floor (due to events
Gymnastics and Freight Elevator) but the safe
hasn’t been cracked on the 2nd floor nor have we
found the stairs to get up here. All 3 walkways are
on the lower floors. Now what?

To avoid this situation, you can shuffle a walkway into
each of the second and third floor decks. But generally
be aware of going up a walkway with Gymnastics
without a way down.

Guard Clarification

What if an alarm triggered guard moves through
the orange die?

When an alarm token is placed, the guard’s destination
(orange die) should be moved to the alarm, therefore
the orange die is where the guard ends his/her
movement.

If the guard moves into the tile that contains my
burglar does it stop there or will he continue to
move on to his destination?

The guard walking through your tile will cause you to
lose a stealth token but he does not stop. You hid from
sight, so therefore no reason for him to stop.

If the guard starts his turn on the same tile as my
burglar, does my burglar still lose a stealth token
and will the guard move?

No. You lose a stealth token when the guard moves
into your square. You are just hiding out in the spot
you found when he entered the room.

If the guard is on a tile that the active player is on,
can the active player take actions such as hacking,
adding a die to a safe, or attempting to crack a safe
without using stealth tokens?

Yes you can do all of those things if you have already
paid the stealth when the guard or you entered the
room.



Tools Clarification

Donuts. Can they only be dropped if you share a
tile with a guard?

You can use it from anywhere, they are mail order
donuts.

When can you use the EMP or the time bomb?
Any time on a player’s turn that holds the item but
before you move the guard.

When can tools be used?
Only on your turn.

Virus
Can be used from anywhere.

Loot Clarification

Recall that players must leave the building with every
loot card found...

Persian Kitty

When you obtain this loot, the Persian Kitty token is not
placed on the board yet! The Persian Kitty token will
appear only if at the start of the turn of the player
holding this loot rolls a 1 or a 2 (roll a die before taking
any actions each turn while holding the loot.) On a 1 or
2 roll, the Persian Kitty is then attracted to the nearest
room tile that has an alarm icon (not token!) - place the
Kitty token on a tile adjacent to your current location in
the direction of the attracting alarm icon room. If there
are no tiles with alarm icons revealed on the player’s
floor, do not place the Kitty token yet. The Kitty token
does not trigger alarms, or other tile effects. Once the
token is on the board, it is a free action to pick him/her
up once you are on the same tile. Do not roll for the
Kitty while it is on the board; it does not move at all
until picked up.
https://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/20958458#20
958458

Gold Bars

When you draw this, find the other copy and put it on
the safe. Another player must come pick it up (as a
free action). Also, the first card can be traded to
another player, then the original player may return to

pick up the other card. For solo play, remove these
cards from the deck.

Tiara
This acts like a portable foyer, but only during your
actions, not when the guard is moving.

Chihuahua
Roll at the beginning of your turn to see if the
chihuahua barks.

Cursed Goblet
If you already have zero stealth tokens, the Cursed
Goblet does not make you lose the game.

Character Clarification

Hacker
e The Jammer side of Hacker cannot opt to NOT
disable the specified tiles.
Juicer
e Advanced Juicer can only pick up and drop
alarms from the tile she is on.
Rook
e When moving another player, they can be
moved up stairs or into unexplored tiles. If they
are moved into a locked Keypad, they roll 1 die.

Event Clarification

All Event Cards that state “remove at the start of
your next turn” (Gymnastics, Time Lock, Video
Loop)

As event cards are activated after a player’s actions
are finished, but deactivated at the start of their next
turn, this means that the player triggering the event
never gets to use the benefits nor are affected by the
restrictions of the event card.

Reboot
Set all visible computer rooms to have 1 token.

Throw Voice
Does not work through secret door. Can’t use if an
alarm is going off.



Crash!

Does this follow the rules of Throw Voice and cannot
occur if an alarm is going off, or do you move the
destination die and treat is as another alarm location
without an increase in speed?

Given the ruling on Throw Voice (thematically, you are
making noise), | would say you can’t use this when an
alarm is going off.

Change of Plans

Does this follow the rules of Throw Voice and cannot
occur if an alarm is going off, or do you move the
destination die and treat is as the new destination after
all alarms are cleared?

Don’t move the die if the alarm is going off, just flip the
card and ignore it. When all alarms are turned off, a
new card will be flipped. Total loss of 2 guard cards.

Switch Signs

Does this follow the rules of Throw Voice and cannot
occur if an alarm is going off, or does the guard move
to the closest alarm and deactivate it immediately, or
do the closest alarm and the guard change places?

The guard appears at the alarm room and disable the
alarm immediately. Move the destination die to the next
closest alarm or flip a new guard card if no more
alarms.

Where is he?

Does this follow the rules of Throw Voice and cannot
occur if an alarm is going off, or does the guard move
to the closest alarm and deactivate it immediately?

The guard moves to the closest alarm immediately and
deactivates it.

Shift Change

What order are the guards resolved in (Lowest Floor to
Highest Floor, Highest Floor to Lowest Floor, Player's’
Choice)?

| don’t think order matters in this case as all other
guards will move. So, player’s choice.

Peekhole
“You may peek...” lIs this optional?
Using the Peekhole is optional.

Go With Your Gut

If the adjacent tile is a room that cannot be entered (ie.
Keypad), does the player bounce back to the original
room?

If the adjacent tile is a room with alarm capabilities, is
the alarm triggered?

(answer by: zenxacred) Treat it as if you moved there
with one action. Resolve entry costs as needed. [Laser
will trigger as it requires two actions to enter]

Gymnastics

Are Walkway tiles then accessible from beneath them
to be climbed “up to”, or do they allow you to move one
floor “up from” them?

(answer by: zenxacred) Gymnastics will allow you to
move up from walkways and down onto them. They are
treated as the Stairs tile for that floor for the duration of
the event. They still function as regular walkways [i.e.
you can go down from them as well]

Freight Elevator

If you get a freight elevator (fall up one floor) on the top
floor, are you taken to the roof and therefore, out of the
game?

(answer by peakhope) Yes, if all the safes are cracked
when you draw the freight elevator. Otherwise, no
because players are not allowed to leave the building
before then.

Advanced Acrobat

Can the advanced acrobat move horizontally on the
outside of the building

(answer by Tim Fowers) No, unless you house rule,
but that does make him more powerful

Lost Visual Cards

When playing with the Lost Visual cards and drawing
new guard location and destination cards, is the guard
supposed to start moving that same turn or stay at his
location until the next turn?



(answer by Tim Fowers): That same turn. The Lost
Visual cards are designed to make the patrol deck a
little bit harder and unpredictable

Starting Tile
For how long does the starting tile remain inactive?

Answer: Just for the first action of the first turn for each
player



